LITTLE ROCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 810 WEST MARKHAM STREET LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201

MINUTES SPECIAL BOARD MEETING June 11, 2009

The Board of Directors of the Little Rock School District convened a special meeting on Thursday, June 11, 2009, immediately following the regularly scheduled agenda meeting. The meeting was held in the Boardroom of the Administration Building, 810 West Markham Street, Little Rock, Arkansas. Vice President Charles Armstrong presided.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Charles Armstrong Jody Carreiro Melanie Fox Baker Kurrus Robert M. Daugherty Katherine Mitchell

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Dianne Curry

ALSO PRESENT:

Linda Watson, Superintendent of Schools Beverly Griffin, Recorder of Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Mr. Armstrong called the meeting to order at 5:32 p.m. Five members of the Board were present at roll call; Dr. Daugherty arrived at 5:45 p.m. Ms. Curry arrived after adjournment at 6:00 p.m. Ex officio members of the board were also present: Lynda Smedley, teacher from Jefferson Elementary School. The student ex officio from McClellan High School did not attend.

II. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

The meeting was called for the purpose of approving the appointment of principals to McClellan High School and Washington Elementary School.

APPOINTMENT OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS

Marvin Burton was recommended for appointment to the position of principal at McClellan High School. Mr. Carreiro moved to approve the appointment of Mr. Burton to the position of principal at McClellan High School. Mr. Kurrus seconded the motion and it <u>carried</u> <u>unanimously</u>.

Katherine Snyder was recommended for appointment to the position of principal at Washington Magnet Elementary School. Dr. Mitchell moved to approve the recommendation; Mr. Kurrus seconded the motion and it <u>carried unanimously</u>.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m. on a motion by Ms. Fox seconded by Mr. Carreiro.

A board worksession was conducted immediately following adjournment.

APPROVED: <u>06-25-09</u>

Originals Signed by: Dianne Curry, President Jody Carriero, Secretary

NOTES FROM BOARD WORKSESSION

Smart Accountability:

Dee Cox, from the Arkansas Department of Education, provided a packet of information and an overview PowerPoint presentation. State Specialty teams for schools in SI 3 or beyond are being formed and it is hoped that they will be available mid-July. Some will be in-district employees trained in special professional development. Some will be co-op volunteers who have offered to assist school staff.

ADE is working with NORMES to make the website more available for teachers and administrators.

Middle School Task Force:

Jody Carreiro provided a written summary report of priorities identified by the Middle School Task Force. Some items will be implemented as recommended without additional board action. Some will need to be presented for the board to approve at the regular June board meeting. Other items will be prioritized and implemented at a later date.

Stimulus Plan:

A report of recommendations for spending the funds provided by ARRA was presented by Kelsey Bailey. Additional information will be provided next week at a work session with Heather Gage from the AR Department of Education. The meeting was scheduled for 5:30 p.m., June 18.