LITTLE ROCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 810 WEST MARKHAM STREET LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201

MINUTES SPECIAL BOARD MEETING July 9, 2009

The Board of Directors of the Little Rock School District convened a special meeting on Thursday, July 9, 2009, immediately following the regularly scheduled agenda meeting. The meeting was held in the Boardroom of the Administration Building, 810 West Markham Street, Little Rock, Arkansas. Vice President Charles Armstrong presided.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Dianne Curry
Charles Armstrong
Jody Carreiro
Melanie Fox
Baker Kurrus
Robert M. Daugherty
Katherine Mitchell

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

ALSO PRESENT:

Linda Watson, Superintendent of Schools Beverly Griffin, Recorder of Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Ms. Curry called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. All members of the Board were present at roll call. The student ex officio member, Evan Wordlaw, student from Parkview Magnet School was also present.

II. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

The agenda for the special meeting included:

- A. Appointment of School Administrator Henderson Magnet Middle School
- B. Evaluation of the Superintendent

III. ACTION AGENDA

APPOINTMENT OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR

The administration recommended the appointment of Stephen Geurin to the position of principal at Henderson Magnet Middle School. Mr. Kurrus moved to approve the appointment and Dr. Daugherty seconded the motion. It **carried unanimously**.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The board convened an executive session at 6:05 p.m. for the purpose of conducting the annual evaluation of the superintendent. Ms Fox made the motion which was seconded by Mr. Armstrong.

The board returned from executive session at 7:35 p.m. no action was taken. Ms. Curry reported that the board had completed the evaluation process and had presented the results to Dr. Watson. She reported that the board would meet again set goals and would have additional discussions with Dr. Watson.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the board, the meeting adjourned at 7:36 p.m. on a motion by Ms. Fox seconded by Dr. Daugherty.

APPROVED: 07-23-09 Originals Signed by:
Dianne Curry, President

Jody Carriero, Secretary